The end of another difficult season

Friday 13th May 2022 4:00 pm
Minehead Ladies Hockey Club
Standing Left to Right: Carol Matravers (Captain's Award) Jan Weetch (Webber Cup), Vicky Perkins (Player's Player and Stress Balls) Seated: Zöey Cape (Foy Award), Monica Bennett (Gliddon Cup). (n/a )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

MINEHEAD Men’s and Ladies Hockey Clubs shared an evening of celebration and awards at Minehead Social Club last week.

All three Men’s teams and the Ladies team were represented with their captains giving entertaining speeches which encapsulated the spirit of the season which, while not the most successful, was certainly enjoyed by everyone after long months of lockdown and uncertainty; and provided plenty for all players to reflect upon, with vice-chairman Ian Jeanes stepping in to deliver an end-of-season summary recognising the efforts of players, team captains, and most importantly the volunteer umpires, without whom no games could have been played.

Men’s award winners on the night included: Josh Hooper (Henry Bissell Trophy), Gary Palmer (Ancient Mariner), Dom Bowden (Collins Cup), James Weetch (1st XI Player of the Season), Simon Strong (2nd XI Player of the Season and Clubman of the Year), Paul Jones (Committee Cup), Adrian Bagg (3rd Team Player of the Season), Jack Lancaster (Turner Under-18).

Summer League action gets under way at Taunton Vale on Tuesday, May 17; all are welcome to join - details on the Club Facebook pages.

The Club’s AGM will be held on May 25 at the Britannia Inn, Alcombe; all are welcome to attend (7.30p.m.).


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0