THE final of the Seniors Porlock Cup at Minehead Golf Club was played between Dave Oatridge and Doug Hayhoe. At the end of a closely contested final between two players on top of their form Dave Oatridge won by one hole. 

Meanwhile, Minehead Seniors played a 321 Bowmaker that was narrowly won by Steve Gay, Trevor Stephens and Roger Read with 59 points, one ahead of Paul Thompson, John Burrow and Mark Swallow who squeezed past Doug Hayhoe, Willie Brown and Chris Durman on count back.

Following the competition, the Seniors AGM was held at which time Bob Arthington was voted in as Seniors Captain for 2024, taking the mantle from Martyn Westbury. 

Grateful thanks go to Martyn for all his efforts during his tenure as captain. We wish Bob Arthington all the best for his year ahead and also to Chris Durman as Vice Captain.

Minehead Avalon Seniors hosted their second home fixture of the year against Isle of Wedmore last week and managed a 3.5/1.5 win.

The week concluded with the first round of the Marshall Cup, a medal competition played over five rounds that was won by Graham Smith with a nett 67, followed by Andy Giles on 68 and Trevor Stephens with 69.